From the Holler! – North Georgia Edition

It’s been awhile since my last post. In my defense, I’ve been pretty busy. Wrestling season ended which now gives me some spare time in the evening. That being said, here are some things worthy of note: 

  • I am currently teaching part time at the University of North Georgia.  The class I am teaching is a special topics subject called “Appalachian Identity and Stereotypes.” In it, students primarily use film to identify and analyze “Hillbillies.” Each film includes numerous readings that place the film within its historical context. I have to say, I’m having the time of my life.
  • The 39th Annual Appalachian Studies Association Conference is quickly approaching. I am enthusiastic about presenting new research I have conducted on John D. Gray and industrial uses of slavery in Graysville, GA. Research for the particular project is definitely occupying a lot of my time currently. Additionally, I am preparing to serve on a committee sponsored roundtable discussion entitled “Y’ALL Professional Advancement Discussion.” This year’s conference, held at Shepherd University in Shepherdstown, WV, should be quite exciting.
  • 20% of Donald Trump’s supporters disagree with the Emancipation Proclamation. I’m not making that up.
  • AppalachianHistory.net published an incredible article, written by Linda Barden, about “electrifying” Rabun County (GA). Spoiler – it didn’t happen all at once.
  • Kevin Levin argues against Dr. James I. Robertson’s view that the Confederate Battle Flag “was stolen from the South.” Kevin offers his opinion here – it makes for some interesting reading.
Comment Below. All comments are moderated.

