“A Day Which Will Live in Infamy…”

2 thoughts on ““A Day Which Will Live in Infamy…”

    1. I don’t like what happened in World War II and I don’t want it to happen to Muslims now, but on one level I respect Trump’s answer.

      He said, “I would have had to be there at the time to tell you, to give you a proper answer. I certainly hate the concept of it. But I would have had to be there at the time to give you a proper answer.” That’s pretty much a straight-forward response. What would any of us, had we grown up and been in a position of authority nearly 75 years ago, done? I know what I’d like to think I’d done, but it’s somewhat disingenuous for me to simply state, “I never would have interned Americans of Japanese descent,” because today, with hindsight, we can see that it was wrong.

      Mind you, I’m not a big fan of Trump or many of his ideas, but I will give him credit for not taking the easy way out on this question.

      However, I would hope that anyone who has serious aspirations for the White House can see that interning any single group because of their religion, ethnicity, etc., is wrong, in part because of what happened and what we learned during WW II.

Leave a Reply

