From the Holler!

It has been awhile since I’ve had a chance to update the blog. In part because I have been on Summer vacation and I needed a mental break. The other reason is because I’ve been in hot pursuit of a new teaching and coaching gig. I’ve received some great offers but unfortunately those coaching positions did not come with a solid teaching position. I was recently offered a head coaching position with a truly great school but the school did not have any social studies positions and I had to turn them down. I’ve just spend too long studying history to switch to a different subject even if it is only for a short time. Such is the life of a public school teacher. Anyways, here are some updates.

  • The Supreme Court of the United States ruled that the state of Texas can, indeed, reject a license plate with a Confederate Flag on it. Justice Clarence Thomas wrote the majority opinion which held that license plate designs are government speech, not free speech. According to them, the government has the right to censor itself.
  • In other SCV news, the Sons of Confederate Veterans, Virginia Division, passed a resolution which “condemn[ed] the actions of all other organizations purporting to represent Southern History and the Confederate Soldier, including, but not limited to, the Virginia Flaggers and the Army of Northern Virginia Mechanized Cavalry, which, although they may be well intentioned, nevertheless serve to damage the reputation of the Sons of Confederate Veterans and, indeed, the Confederate Veterans themselves.” The reactions from notable VA Flagger members and supporters have been quite entertaining. Of course, I can’t help but think that the SCV might have been considering Rob Walker, Jr. or Tripp Lewis when passing this resolution unanimously.
  • Speaking of Confederate Flags, the BBC penned an article which points out that the CBF began trending online in the immediate aftermath of the mass shooting in Charleston, South Carolina. According to the article, “In a matter of hours after the attack, more than 30,000 tweets were sent including the word “confederate.” On Twitter some liberals and civil rights activists went so far as to link the flag and South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley, a Republican who supports the flying of the banner, to the attack at the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church.” Needless to say, it’s been a big day for the Confederate Flag and the tragedy that usually surrounds it.
  • I came across old property deeds for Catoosa County dating back to the 1850s. I’m hoping to find some valuable information for my project about slavery in Catoosa County. It’d be nice to find some bills of salve but so far, only land. If anyone has any recommendations on where to look, let me know.
  • Finally, if you’ll notice I created a couple of new pages for the website. I’m going to track a bit of my genealogy and I’m also keeping a digital annotated bibliography for my project on Catoosa County’s history.
Comment Below. All comments are moderated.

