Genealogy Field Trip: Day 1

image

Well, day one of the journey concluded with our arrival in Independence, VA. It has been a great trip so far.
My grandfather and I started our trip in the East Tennessee area up around Bulls Gap. One of my ancestors, Timothy Holdaway, migrated into the area after the Revolutionary War and settled along the Bent Creek. Coincidentally, this is the same area of Unionist resistance to the Confederate Government known infamously as “The Bridge Burning Conspiracy .” In a moment of sheer luck, we ran into an ancestor of Alexander Haun in the Bulls Gap Railroad Museum. Haun was one of the Bridge Burners hanged by the Confederate government. Boy, did his ancestor have some stories to tell.

After we left, I took my grandfather to the Harmon family cemetery.

image

The Harmons were a father and son duo also hanged by the Confederate government. The only known monument dedicated to the Bridge Burners sits on this location as well.

Once we left, my grandfather and I rode through Greeneville, TN to see the home and grave of President Andrew Johnson. Then we drove north to Jonesboro, TN and rode through that historic town. We didn’t get to stop  but the scenery was outstanding.

After a day long journey, we arrived in Grayson County, VA. We haven’t investigated much family history just yet, aside from visiting a store where one of my distant ancestors was shot (I got my picture made by a bullet hole in the door). Today we are going cemetery hopping, and I will visit the grave of one of my Confederate ancestors. Appropriate timing, eh?

Posted from WordPress for Android

Comment Below. All comments are moderated.

