To Buy or Not to Buy, That is the Question

discbga

I cannot express how much fun the Blue-Gray Alliance 150th Gettysburg Re-enactment was. The marching, the “fighting,” the Hard Tack….ahhh, memories. I was especially thrilled to learn that the BGA hired a film crew to produce a video of the three day event. Here is the thrilling trailer.

When I first saw the name of the film company in Gettysburg I thought the name sounded familiar. When I came home, it finally struck me. This is the same organization that put out this horrendous video.

Although my evaluation of this organization is cursory at this point, from what I can tell the “film makers” at Discerning History cater to home school organizations and project a heavy Christian influence into their work. They seem to be the David Barton of home school videos. So here is my dilemma. I really, really want the video of the re-enactment I participated in BUT, if I buy it I am financing an organization that produces shatty history. 

To Buy, or Not to Buy, That is the Question. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “To Buy or Not to Buy, That is the Question

  1. Rob [Edit], I can’t speak directly to the merits of this company. However, several years back I was working with a shipwreck project that was featured on an episode of the History Channel series, Deep Sea Detectives. We had our own film-maker on the project, and a large part of his job turned out to be keeping the DSD production company on a short leash. They showed up at the dock with much of their script, their “take” on the project, already written and ready to go before the mission even began. The end product ended up representing the project and the history behind it pretty accurately, but that was only because everyone involved insisted that they do it the hard way, from scratch. If that hadn’t been done, that episode would have ended up just as inaccurate as many of the others they’d done.

    So the short answer is, video production people are not historians (or archaeologists, or whatever), and will only produce as good or reliable a product as the people advising them are.

Comment Below. All comments are moderated.

