Terrific article posted by the Archives of Appalachia. Make sure follow their blog. This organization has a rich and valuable archive for anyone wanting to learn about Appalachia.

Archives of Appalachia at East Tennessee State University

In 1873, Congress established the Committee on War Claims. This committee expanded on the former Committee on Revolutionary Claims to include “claims arising from any war in which the United States has been engaged.” The Committee on War Claims provided an avenue for individuals who lost property during the Civil War (1861-1865) to file for compensation from the federal government. Individuals who filed for property loss caused by Union troops had to prove they were loyal to the Union cause in order to obtain monetary compensation.

While most claims for property loss during the Civil War were filed through the Southern Claims Commission (established in 1871), 2,407 claims were submitted to the Committee on War Claims by the March 3, 1873 submission deadline. [1] According to the Fourth General Report of the Commissioners of Claims (1874), Tennessee had the highest amount of claims filed at 554 with Virginia following at 475.

View original post 515 more words

4 thoughts on “

  1. George Purvis

    So why the comment box?? If you cannot prove historical facts wrong you would do as you did on the Lincoln page at http://thehistoricstruggle.wordpress.com/2013/02/24/abraham-lincoln-wins-an-oscar/ shut down the comments and post your opinion. Even the casual reader just passing by can see what you have done. If that is what it takes for a “real historian” to be right, then that is downright pathetic.

    Like the 9 year old kid can’t have his way so he takes his ball and goes home. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

    No worry no need to reply I refused to argue with an idiot. Be my guest as Bill O’Reilly of FOX news says you can have the last word.

    George Purvis

    Southern Heritage Advancement Preservation and Education Where you never have to worry about threads being closed because we don’t agree with you.

    1. Nice of you to drop by George.

      I stated twice on the post about D-Day Lewis winning an Oscar why I shut down the comments box. I also stated that I would reply in turn to the comments left open. This is because, as I typed up the update that I was closing the comments box, a couple more comments came in. So I wanted to provide a reply rather than just shut them off. I have the right to that as it is my blog. I also stated, as I will do so here, that I closed the comments because they were counter productive. They ceased to be about Lincoln’s Oscar win and began to consist mostly about Ft. Sumter. Arguments were becoming pretty circular. Also, the post was taking a lot of time away from school work and/or future posts. I stated then, as I intend to do, that I will open up a new post in the future about Ft. Sumter which I invited you and others to bring back your arguments.

      The threads were not closed because of disagreement. The thread was closed because it ran its course. This is the last I will post on that subject George. I invite you to come back and comment on future posts. I hope you are serious about not writing a reply to this. I do approve almost every comment, with the exception of spam or outright insults completely off topic. So if you comment, I will reply. But I would like the readers’ attention towards this post to remain on the wonderful work of the Appalachian Archives at ETSU and not the dispute on the comments section. Thanks.

      P.S. I’ve been banned from Southern Heritage Preservation pages for disagreeing. Just saying.

Comment Below. All comments are moderated.

