Sid Hatfield

I’ve got some down time tonight. Let me tell you it is well deserved. I’ve been conducting high school midterms and grading along with taking my own midterm this past Wednesday. For my downtime, I decided to watch the coal mining classic MatewanIf you haven’t seen this movie, you can watch the whole thing in segments on YouTube. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the Appalachian coal mine wars.

My favorite character is the town police chief Sid Hatfield played by David Strathairn. Being a “movie Googler,” or someone that Googles the random things that takes place in movies, I naturally began to search for Sid Hatfield. On the West Virginia Encyclopedia website, I found this incredible video clip using actual footage of ol’ Sid. I thought I’d share it with you. Enjoy!

http://www.wvencyclopedia.org/media/11141

Leave a Reply

